Policy Committee

Back to Organization and Additional Info

The Policy Committee is the decision-making body and is represented by officials from federal, state, and local agencies, from transportation providers, and from the business community. It is responsible for taking into consideration the recommendations from the CTC and the TCC when adopting plans or setting policy.

The Policy Committee revises and adopts the Unified Planning Work Program annually in order to comply with the federal regulations in the FAST Act. This document ensures that metropolitan planning activities are part of a continuing, cooperative, and comprehensive transportation planning process that involves federal, state, and local agencies as well as those affected by transportation planning decisions.

The Policy committee revises and adopts the Transportation Improvement Program every two years. The TIP is a six year outlook of planned transit and transportation projects. These projects are located in the DARTS 2030 Long Range Transportation Plan. 

Meeting Dates:

September 17, 2020

 January 21, 2021 (Lee County)

April 22, 2021

June 17, 2020

Time: 10:00 AM
Location: 240 Pine Ave., Ste. 380, Albany, GA 31701

(Meeting times and dates are subject to change.)



Policy Committee Voting Members:

  • Chairperson, Dougherty County Commission
  • Mayor, City of Albany
  • Chairperson, Lee County Commission
  • Dougherty County Administrator
  • City of Albany City Manager
  • Staff Representative of Georgia Department of Transportation Office of Planning
  • Lee County Administrator
  • Georgia Department of Transportation District Engineer

*Four (4) voting members are required for a quorum.